Skip to content

IPL 2019: Kolkata Knight Riders add Sandeep Warrier, KC Cariappa to their squad

Sandeep Warrier and KC Cariappa will replace the injured Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mavi in the Kolkata Knight Riders squad led by Dinesh Karthik.

Days ahead of the upcoming edition IPL, BCCI on Sunday announced that Sandeep Warrier and KC Cariappa have been picked by Kolkata Knight Riders as replacements for Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mavi. Both the KKR seamers will miss out from participating in the upcoming edition due to injuries.

Warrier plays for Kerala in the domestic circuit and has earlier represented Royal Challengers Bangalore in the cash-rich league. Cariappa, on the other hand, has featured for Kings XI Punjab and KKR in the previous edition.

Dinesh Karthik-led KKR side will start their campaign against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Eden Gardens on March 24. The franchise bought a total of eight players during the auction. Carlos Brathwaite, Lockie Ferguson and Joe Denly are the big stars that have been roped in by KKR during the auction.

Robin Uthappa, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Prasidh Krishna, Shivam Mavi, Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh are the Indian players that were retained by the franchise. Among the foreigners, Sunil Narine and Andre Russel, who have been clinical in KKR’s recent success, were retained by the franchise.

The IPL is scheduled to kick-off on March 23 with defending champions Chennai Super Kings taking on RCB in the tournament opener.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: