Skip to content

St Lucia Stars sign David Warner for CPL 2018

David Warner will replace D’Arcy Short at St Lucia Stars in the upcoming edition of the Caribbean Premier League.

David Warner will feature in the forthcoming edition of the Caribbean Premier League as a part of St Lucia Stars where he will replace his fellow compatriot D’Arcy Short, who’s been chosen to be a part of Australia A’s tour of India during the same time frame, a CPL media release confirmed on Saturday (June 16).

The former Australia vice-captain, who lost his position in the national side for his involvement in the ball-tampering scandal in the Newlands Test earlier this year, was barred from playing international or Sheffield Shield cricket for 12 months, but was allowed to participate in domestic competitions worldwide.

Earlier this month, the southpaw was confirmed to be a part of the Winnipeg Hawks in the upcoming Global T20 Canada League. He’ll also be seen in the Darwin Strike League in July where he will play for Randwick Petersham, his club in Sydney. However, his participation in the CPL will be the biggest draw ever since his career, along with Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft’s, hit rock bottom in the aftermath of the unceremonious event earlier this year. It is interesting to note that while the 31-year-old was not barred from plying his trade in the franchise-based tournaments around the world, BCCI went ahead and suspended him, along with Smith, from taking part in IPL 2018.

Mohammad Khan, Stars’ General Manager, said: “We are excited to bring David to the Saint Lucia Stars. David is arguably one of the greatest batsman of the modern era and a winning player. He is going to add a lot of value on the field and in the dressing room as we pursue our first Hero CPL Title.”

Warner’s experience in T20 cricket is second to none as he remains one of the most explosive opening batsmen in the format, having scored 7668 runs, including six tons and 59 fifties. He’s also been a fine leader in the format, having led the Sunrisers Hyderabad to an IPL title in 2016.

St Lucia Stars will play their first game of the 2018 edition against defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders on August 8.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: